Skip to main content

Superintendents of the Year

Superintendents of the Year

This is the WASA’s most prestigious superintendent award, the recipient represents our state as the Wyoming Superintendent of the Year at the annual American Association of School Administrators National Conference on Education and competes for the National Superintendent of the Year.  The recipient is selected by a committee of past Wyoming Superintendents of the Year still serving as a Wyoming Superintendent.


Wyoming Superintendent of the Year 2020
David Nicholas
Washakie #1

David Nicholas photo

David Nicholas has spent 30 years in the education field. He began his education career as a Middle School Principal in South Dakota and then spent the next eleven years serving as a Superintendent in that state. David is currently in his tenth year as Superintendent of Schools in Washakie County School District Number One.

David attended Dakota Wesleyan University where he earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Biology and Religion/Philosophy. He received his Master of Education in Educational Leadership from South Dakota State University. David earned his Specialist degree from the University of Sioux Falls.

David has served as President of Northwest WASA and is currently President of the University Partnership. He has attended the Center for Creative Leadership in Colorado Springs. David has led his board members to attain education opportunities from Wyoming Schools Boards Association conferences, as well as national school board conferences. He and his board of trustees developed an intervention program to increase graduation rates by improving student attendance. Mr. Nicholas has also been very involved in the PLC process, attending several conferences.

          Since accepting the Superintendency, Mr. Nicholas has guided his district in becoming a true Professional Learning Community. This was instrumental in one of his schools achieving “Blue Ribbon School” status in 2016. Collaboration in his district has made a huge difference for student performance.

A letter of support states, “The leadership of Mr. Nicholas is fostering an environment for learning, from not only the children and youth, but those that are called as educators, stakeholders and leaders. Our leadership is allowed the flexibility to develop and implement ideas centered around changing the lives of the youth we serve.”



Jacob E. Dailey

Natrona County District #1 Casper – 1989

William Conklin

Albany County District #1 Laramie – 1990

Ottlin A. Wegner

Crook County District #1 Sundance – 1991

J. Allen Lowe

Lincoln County District #2 Afton – 1992

Don R. Baumberger

Sweetwater County District #1 Rock Springs – 1993

Mark A. Higdon

Campbell County District #1 Gillette – 1994

Von P. Dahl

Johnson County District #1 Buffalo – 1995

Richard A. Claycomb

Niobrara County District #1 Lusk – 1996

Gene V. Carmody

Sweetwater County District #1 Rock Springs – 1997

Bernard C. Head

Albany County District #1 Laramie – 1998

Craig Beck

Fremont County District #25 Riverton – 1999

Stanley J. Olsen

Natrona County District #1 Casper – 2000

Richard M. Strahorn

Sweetwater County District #1 Rock Springs – 2001

Bryan C. Monteith

Park County District #6 Cody – 2002

Dan D. Stephan

Laramie County District #1 Cheyenne – 2003

Karl A. Berlin

Fremont County District #21 Ft. Washakie – 2004

Michael J. Hejtmanek

Washakie County District #1 Worland – 2005

Rod R. Kessler

Johnson County District #1 Buffalo – 2006

Dan Espeland

Converse County District #1 Douglas – 2007

James R. Lowham

Natrona County District #1 Casper – 2008

Kevin Mitchell

Park County District #1 Powell – 2009

Sue Belish

Sheridan County District #1 Ranchester – 2010

Diana Clapp

Fremont County District #6 Pavillion – 2011

Paul Grube

Sweetwater County District #1 Rock Springs – 2012

Dan Coe

Big Horn County District #2 Lovell – 2013

Brad LaCroix

Weston County District #1 Newcastle – 2014

Pam Shea

Teton #1 Jackson – 2015

Shon Hocker

Big Horn #1 Cowley – 2016

Boyd Brown

Campbell #1 Gillette – 2017

Gerry Chase

Johnson #1 Buffalo – 2018

Ray Shulte

Park #6 Superintendent of the Year 2019

David Nicholas

Washakie #1 Worland ~ 2020